Skip to content

Deleting the facebook account

I’ve been reading in the press recently that lots of people are getting disenchanted with facebook and deactivating their accounts. And that reminded me that Chris had an account with them, although I don’t think he used it very much. I have, however, been getting annoying reminders from facebook telling him that he hasn’t checked in recently, and that his “friends are waiting for him”. Well, yes, but they’re going to have to wait a very long time I suspect! So I decided to try to close down the account.

That was quite hard. For a start, I didn’t have his password, as it wasn’t on the list of “important passwords” he had left for me.  So I had to get his account password reset by email. That was probably strictly against their terms of usage, but as his “personal representative” and executor, I feel I have justification enough. I don’t think facebook actually want to make it easy for you to leave them, as even once I managed to log in I had to look quite hard for the option. I didn’t want to just “deactivate” the account – I wanted it closed and deleted entirely. I don’t trust facebook and their cavalier attitude to privacy, and want anything they hold on Chris to be permanently deleted. I think I’ve managed to request that, though they’ve given him (i.e. me)  a 14-day cooling-off period in which they merely deactivate the account, during which time it can be reactivated. I suppose that’s reasonable, as otherwise the system would be open to abuse from people maliciously deleting their friends’ accounts.  So hopefully in another two weeks I’ll be able to cross another action off my to-do list.

{ 1 } Comments

  1. paulD | 22 June 2011 at 2:32 pm | Permalink

    They are a pain, particularly their privacy settings, you have to be careful.